Weekend Roundup

The Secrets of Crete

Dear Classical Wisdom Reader,

The one time I was ever in Greece, I was in Crete.

It was a long time ago now, but I still remember it as a stunning, beautiful island, filled with culture and mythology at every turn. From the Palace of Knossos, to the tales of Theseus, Ariadne, and the Minotaur, there’s nowhere quite like it. So I’m pleased that this week we’ve been focusing on this truly special island.

One of my favourite souvenirs I got when I was there was a black and white t-shirt with an image of the enigmatic Phaistos Disk. It remains one of the enduring mysteries of the ancient world, plus it looks really cool! Discover what we know (and don’t know) about this icon of the ancient world just below.

Members can go deeper and read an edition of our magazine Classical Wisdom Litterae dedicated to the Minoan civilization that once populated Crete, plus read an article by Mary Naples on the myth of Ariadne.

Or, if Crete’s not your thing, we have something completely different: a look at the history of chariot racing in the ancient world, from its mythic origins through to the highest paid sports star in history!

Check it all out below, alongside the rest of the week’s resources…

Classical Wisdom Kids

That’s it for this week!

All the best,

Sean Kelly

Managing Editor

Classical Wisdom